Notes from here,there everywhere :D

Hi Everyone,

I hope you all had a good weekend.There were dark clouds everywhere but no rain :((If anyone has seen “Lagaan” then bring to mind “Ghanan Ghanan” song !!!).I hope all of you elsewhere are having a good SUMMER!

I wanted to upload some documents found online, hand-written notes I prepared and those documents that I got from helpful souls in the physicaltherapyforum.

I found this link for SOAP notes helpful:http://www.docstoc.com/docs/document-preview.aspx?doc_id=46763673(Pls Note you may have to register for a basic account in order to download the document.But if you just want to read directly from the website, you do not need to do that)

The below link gives you info on the levels of SCI and what to expect at each level:

TMJ DYSFUNCTIONS– some helpful soul from physical therapy forum e-mailed this to me.I thank him/her for making life easy :).Just click on this link and save the file.

Descriptive Research-1Just click on this link and save the file.

Given below are my hand-written notes.Just right click on each image.You’ll find the option “save link as” .Click on it and it will ask you for location to save the image.You save all the images in a similar manner (in a folder) in your computer.

Given below are References for hand-written notes and Descriptive Research document compiled by me:

www.cals.ncsu.edu/agexed/aee578/correlations.ppt

http://www.okstate.edu/ag/agedcm4h/academic/aged5980a/5980/newpage2.htm

Hope you all find all that I posted helpful.

9 thoughts on “Notes from here,there everywhere :D

  1. Hey

    I was going through the research notes.
    Could you please tell me whats written on page 4 point “h” ? I could not make out your hand writing.
    I did not find anything about it online.

    thanks for help.

  2. hello divya……….
    is t test and t test for independent samples different??
    was confused between two examples
    1.for example a patient with pain is given ultrasound and heat comparision is between the most effective treatment looks like a good example for me as it has two independent samples. (t test for independent samples)
    2.but it is given as handsplint for rheumatoid arthritis where there is only one independent sample.
    can you please explain me this??

    • hi laxmi,
      T-test is of two types namely t-test for a)independent samples(unpaired t-test) and b)matched samples(paired t-test).T-test is also called student’s T-test.
      Independent sample means the subjects are assigned randomly to control group or experiment group and treated.
      Paired sample means each subject from experiment group is matched with each subject from control group,based on some common factor.
      It could be 1)age/2)gender/3)pre-test and post-test scores(in which case the person with low score in group A will be matched with person with low scores in group B.For example if I want to study the effect of
      anti-depressants and I choose a group of people with depression then I have a matched sample.
      The handsplint for RA will be considered for unpaired t-test if you’ve randomly assigned subjects to experiment or control group and have given splint to one group and no splint to another.
      The other example you mentioned please clarify if both groups received the same US and heat treatment.if you can type the whole question.it’ll be helpful.
      hope this explanation helps.

  3. hi divya…your explanation was really helpfull…..
    my question was if we are giving one group ultrasound and other group heat treatments and comparing in between both then what kind of t test is it…….
    from the above explaination i think it is t test for independent samples as well pls correct me if wrong
    thanks

  4. Pingback: Statistics and Research-as simple as can be…. | physicaltherapyprep

Leave a comment